ArcLight+

By ArcLight

Tram day!

Very exciting. The arrival of trams to Newhaven. Only about 12 years late.... At least this map is no longer a lie.

I saw a couple of trams on the way in (today was a day to walk to work), but the actually grand opening was at 12 noon. So what I saw were the final preparations.

I couldn't resist the temptation to try out the tram (especially since it is free for me....I wouldn't fancy paying for a full ticket to go from Picardy Place to the Foot of the Walk if I had to pay, as there are perfectly good buses which are half the price). So I walked down from work to Picardy Place and since a tram was arriving in one minute, I gave it a go. It was packed. I think there are a lot of tram-curious people over our side of the city. Also tourists going to Ocean Terminal. I bet its footfall rises considerably now.

Anyway, we glided in a stately manner down Leith Walk, with all the other traffic stopped to let us progress. And since I got off at the Foot of the Walk (the new stop just in the top of Constitution Street), it would have rude not to pop in the Bottle Shop (which unlike Cornelius did not get a name check in yesterday's paen to Hipster Leith).

I think the trip home was a lot more interesting than the day at work (not like yesterday, for which I am grateful for the love for my colleague's surprise). And it was yet another sunny afternoon, after a grey morning, and still no rain. I do worry about the garden in Tain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.