Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Romance of the white stemmed bramble

This vigorous shrub grows on a north facing wall in our garden. The white stems are tall and covered in vicious thorns. It is not to be messed with. The foliage is this light yellow/green and it appears to be luminous with the evening sun on it.

Mum definitely has the cold and is streaming. It's not fair when we tried so very hard to avoid this happening. Thankfully I feel a lot better, back in the land of the living, so to speak.

We decided to go ahead with me as home hairdresser, so Mum's hair has been washed, cut and set. I wasn't well enough to do it earlier in the week.

I popped to Hexham to pick up my Danish kroner and to exchange my unused euros. I was appalled by how much I had apparently lost with the euros so I have kept them. Whether that is a good move will become clear in time.

I called to see Jenny and Dennis and Kate. Jenny had a fall last night and injured her left wrist. It is very swollen but almost pain free and there is no deformity. Kate and I agreed not to rush her to A & E which she was very keen not to do. Hopefully it is a soft tissue injury, but if there is a fracture there is nothing displaced.

The new door for the cat flap arrived. I dismantle the old one but I did not have the strength to force out the door. Dick was in the garden and he did it. He then had to help me because it was physically impossible for one person to get the screws back in place. The flap is in a double glazed door. Now Oscar will have to get used to a new (clean) door. Watch this space!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.