Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Johnson's Blue and Welsh poppies

It's been another glorious day with no rain. It is 30 days or so since we had rain and the garden is beginning to show signs of the strain. The grass is losing colour and some perennials are wilting during the heat of the day.

I managed to empty out the old tubs, fill them with our own compost and then plant a few annuals in them. There are four and that will have to do. I have put them on the north facing side of the house to help the young plants to put down their roots.

Today was the Roman Wall Show. I was disappointed not to be there, but I did not want Julie (carer) to catch Mum's (my (Italy's)) cold.

Mum is a bit better today but it was hard for her to cope with the heat.

Perhaps a rain dance is called for..........

Johnson's blue is a perennial favourite. It is another good doer, but it has only one flowering a year, unlike many of the other perennial geraniums.  I like the colour contrast against the Welsh poppies in the background.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.