Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Lunch at Julie's

I drove to Newcastle for lunch at Julie's. Pauline and the other Marjorie were there too.

Julie always makes lovely food and today was no exception. We had gazpacho with pan con tomate (to remind me of my Spanish holiday), then lamb kleftico with new potatoes and veg (because I don't cook lamb at home) and a delicious pudding with meringue, raspberries, creme fraiche and little chocolatey bits. 

The conversation flowed very freely and varied from very silly to very serious.

Tonight Julie and I were in Hexham at the opening night of the Book Festival. Andrew Mitchell entertained us with anecdotes from Parliament. He voted for Boris to be Party Leader "we needed a Brexiteer" but soon became disillusioned. However, he did not write a letter of no confidence.

He spoke like a politician, which was to be expected!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.