Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

It was our monthly Sunday Climb today, at Stanage Plantation for a change, and although I should've just stayed at home I went. One reason was that I wanted to pass a club item onto another member, the other reason was that I wanted to see everyone, but of course once I was there I wanted to climb.

I belayed Fi on a Diff and as she was setting up the anchors I noticed the route in the photo, Sand Crack HS4b, Mick had led it, Jim had seconded it and I fancied having a go. It was hopeless! Apart from still recovering from covid, the route began with 4 metres of laybacking, which I never find very easy as it requires a  lot of upper body strength. On a good day I would've struggled, today I just about got off the ground but that was it! So I untied and went back to the Diff, which I also really struggled with. I did get to the top, but only by using the Beached Whale move... thankfully no one had a camera handy! I left soon after and came home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.