Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Afternoon Tea

In all the years I've photographed these common little woodpeckers, I've never seen one with prey - kind of surprising now that I think about it.  Anyway, it had to be my blip today since who knows when I'll see another downy woodpecker dangling a little green larva.  Babies are being fed and the traffic at my suet feeder has increased exponentially.  The catbirds and robins are still chasing the blue jays who seem undaunted by the attacks.  

Biggest news in the garden today was seeing the bluebirds building a nest in the box right outside Hubs' office!  I had seen there and at least one youngster from the first brood hanging around and was hoping they'd nest again.  You may recall that the first next box was trashed by a bear a couple of days before the young were due to fledge.  Although I initially feared that all the babies were dead, I've come to believe that at least some survived.  The bug situation in our garden is quite favorable to nesting birds and there are multiple fresh water sources, so we've made it quite welcoming here.  I'm thrilled to be hosting the bluebirds again.

I started the day with a FT call with my parents which was most enjoyable as usual.  The weather in the greater Portland area has been very nice so Mom and Dad have been getting out for lots of walks in recent weeks.  Good for body and mind!

I made a quick trip to the drugstore today to get a nasal spray for my allergies.  I've been feeling it in my lungs and throat since we had the big smoke event this week so time to try something different.  

Dark with roasted hazel nuts today - yes, it's as good as it sounds.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.