Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Mono Cardinal - Simplicity

I thought I'd check in to see what the MM challenge was for today and it seems to be Simplicity.  Ordinarily, I wouldn't think of a red bird to represent this theme, but when I converted the image, it struck me as quite simple.  I think this is the first time I have ever done a cardinal in mono.

I've been outside in the garden almost all day, most of the time with Jax snoozing nearby.  I've seen loads of birds coming and going - clearly everyone is feeding babies right now and this is definitely not a good time to be an insect!  I found a pair of crane flies mating but they were on the side of the house which doesn't make for a very nice picture.  Later I saw a catbird with a crane fly in its beak and had to wonder... I caught a quick look at the first Red-bellied woodpecker fledging of the season - I've been hearing them for the last few days but today one came down and landed on the deck briefly.  Work is continuing on the bluebird nest in front of the house and I think one of the boxes of wrens may have fledged.  The second box is noisy with the sound of noisy nestlings begging to be fed.  

Rain is in the forecast later - thank goodness because we've been dry as a bone.  

I think dark with orange today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.