Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Yardbird 21

We gave Cedar Waxwings year-round here but they only show up in our yard when certain berries are ripening.  In the spring they come for the tiny cherries on our cherry trees and for the fruit on our service berry tree.  The service berry tree has an abundance of fruit this spring so is full of catbirds, robins, cardinals, woodpeckers and chipmunks.  And waxwings!    I don't know anyone who doesn't like these birds - they are sleek and elegant and somewhat mysterious.  Their song is a very thin, high pitched zeeee and hard for some to hear.  

I could have hoped for a cleaner shot but I will take what I can get today.  I am putting one other shot, my second choice, in Extra.  The primary reason I selected the main is because it's an adult bird and you can clearly see the "wax" on its wing tips.

Jax and I had quite a scare today when we went for our walk on the Lane.  As we were walking along, a young mastiff shot out from someone's yard and went after Jax.  I was screaming at the top of my lungs trying to get it to leave Jax alone, terrified that he was going to hurt him.  The dog was snarling and being very aggressive and Jax was yelping and trying to get away.  It's owner came running out and caught the dog and hauled it off, leaving a young woman behind to find out if we were okay.  I was so upset and shaken that I just took Jax straight home.  I went over every inch of him and he's fine.  But it left both of us shaken.  He's never met an aggressive dog before so I think it was scary for him.  He's been sound asleep since we got home.  I later talked to one of our neighbor's who said that the dog doesn't live there but belongs to the adult son of the owners of the house - apparently he was visiting and maybe he didn't know his dog is reactive to other dogs.  I hope he learns a lesson from this.

It has otherwise been a very nice day.  I got in several hours of photography which always soothes my soul.  

I think something dark with nuts today...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.