Flossmo

By Flossmo

Furry beautiful

I was out in the garden by 8:30 to try and beat the heat. But, although they sky was overcast, it was already very humid. Nevertheless, I pushed on with a bit of weeding and tidying. By mid morning I was glad of a cup of tea and a nice tepid shower in my new bathroom.

After lunch I set off to meet a friend  to visit a couple of open studios. The first one was a collective of five artists, a  potter, a painter, a printmaker, a jeweller and a knitter. They were all very interesting people and had marvellous work on display.  Unfortunately my attention was completely consumed by the absolutely gorgeous Burmese cats sat amongst the knitted garments on display.  I tentatively put out a hand to stroke the grey cat but  it didn't move or even open its eyes as I rubbed its head. The brown cat sat with its eyes still closed, too, but lazily reached out a paw to tap my hand and ask if it could also have a head rub. I could hardly tear myself away. Apparently some visitors though they were stuffed. 

Our next visit was to a duo who were a printmaker and a paper sculpture artist. Their studio was down a country lane in a lovely courtyard of farm buildings with a small brewery and a cheese and ice cream maker nearby.  Lovely in the summer but perhaps not quite so idyllic in the winter. The extra photograph shows a shelf of paints in their studio. I just loved the names: March, Pear, Owl and Too Woo. Such imagination.

Just before we left, the sky started to spark and bang a bit and we even had a short shower. But in the end it wasn't enough to clear the humidity. I spent a hot evening reading on the sofa.

 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.