Day at a Time

By Tweedy

Speckled Wood Butterfly

I think it is anyway though I'd be glad of confirmation or otherwise. I wasn't sure about its green underwing but that could just be the sunlight. 

A lovely  shady woodland walk at Muiravonside Country Park today. Friends from Edinburgh met us there  -  it's a good half way point. An unhurried ramble of about three miles ensued. There was much chatting and catching up. It's funny though what people notice. I could have spent ages looking at the natural environment whereas it more or less passed our friends by. I don't mean that they didn't enjoy the walk just that we were interested in different things. I'd have waited for the butterfly to pose with its wings open but it wasn't to be. 

There were some fine Highland coos too but I chose the light on the fern and the speckled wood ( if it is). 

We had exciting family plans this weekend which have had to be shelved. My nephew and great nephew were due to visit but the younger of the two wasn't very well and couldn't travel.  Very disappointing all round as we haven't seen them for so long (pre covid). They live on the south coast of England so not just round the corner. 

It's very hot today but this is the start of some cooler weather and possibly some rain. We really need it. 

I can't say how despicable I find the behaviour of the former PM and his cronies.  I'll just leave it there and wish you a pleasant weekend. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.