JennyOwen

By JennyOwen

Open wide...

On impulse, I drove over to the nature reserve at Bempton Cliffs this morning. The weather forecast is suggesting that the current dry spell will end soon , and I had a free day.
I don't think I improved on images from past visits. But having been before, I felt relaxed and able to just enjoy the spectacle of the gannets, kittiwakes, razorbills and other seabirds that nest on the cliffs. There were a few puffins too, but apparently they tend to be way out at sea during warm days like these (very sensible...)  There's one in the extra, with its kittiwake neighbour.
Probably the best sighting of the day was this gannet parent and chick, during a feed. Who knew that a gannet's beak was capable of such flexibility!  Best viewed large to see the detail, as the chick, in particular, blends in so well with the cliff face.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.