JennyOwen

By JennyOwen

Poppies under a cloudy sky

Yesterday I noticed a large poppy field near the M1, on my way to Bempton. It looks like one that the farmer may have set aside this year, there's no sign of a crop there.
 It wasn't a good moment to stop, so I went back early this morning to take a closer look.  There's a network of old lanes that wind under and around the M1, so it wasn't too hard to find somewhere to park.
I find the edges of Sheffield and Rotherham fascinating, with their higgledy-piggledy mix of industry past and present, farming and housing.  Wild creatures, and wild flowers, find ways to flourish in some niches amongst the jumble.
This spot is sandwiched between the M1 and the edge of Rotherham. It's not picturesque (understatement). But I like the statuesque pylons in the background, rising out of the woodland fringe and the sea of poppies. It's a satisfyingly incongruous mix. And it was absolutely full of bees and other pollinators.
While I was pondering all this, cloud was thickening, making for a decidedly featureless sky. But we could do with the forecast rain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.