carliewired

By carliewired

54 F/ 12C

A grim looking day
that's cold and wet, but we might
see heat again soon

~carliewired

It was not a speedy exit from the house this morning. Cranky feet don't like activity. It was already 8 when I parked beside Walker Lake on the Campbell Creek Road. I listened to the news while the rain started to fall. It was a chilly 8 C on top of the hill. 

This road is one of my favourite drives outside the city. Today it was looking grey and not at all appealing. I was determined to take all my photos from inside my car. The wipers were on slow. 

Campbell Creek Road features ranches and farms, both old and new. It winds its way through this valley and back out to Barnhartvale where I take the route back into the city on the TransCanada Highway. 

The irrigation systems were running even though it's rather cold and wet at the moment. The cold front we have could bring wet snow to our upper level highways. This is most unusual for June. We can expect warm temperatures again by the end of the week. 

Traffic in the city is snarled in several locations with construction and repairs underway. The major route to and from the downtown has been reduced from four to two lanes for redevelopment. I got caught in the mess on my way home. 

I'm in for the day now. It will be a quiet one. I may need to turn the furnace back on! 

On the national front, it's been announced that as of last Friday, Canada has reached the population of 40,000,000. We are told that one million was added in just the last year due largely to immigration. We have doubled our population since 1966.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.