Deep and Wide

A grey start to my
day and prospects of more rain
expected today

~carliewired

I was enjoying my coffee at 5:30, then I was out the door with my camera at 6:45. There was not much to motivate me this morning. The weather continues to disappoint. 

I headed over the bridge to Mission Flats to get another look at our high water in the valley. I drove to the end of the road to get a look over the delta from this south shore location. I looked across to the airport control tower. A Canadian Pacific freight train sat idle and quiet on the tracks. Often I see one along this line with the engine running and the lights on. Sometimes I see some crew arrive in a pickup to get on the train. Not today. I was careful at the turnaround as we're warned that river banks can be unstable during high water. 

I headed back the way I came noting the big puddles along the roadside. In a semi-arid region that receives less than 14 inches of precipitation each year, puddles are a novelty. These muddy puddles reflected the vegetation upside down for me.

My last stop caught my mountains across Rabbit Island. The shoreline of the island is under water. The mountains looked hazy as the rain started again. 

I'm home today and will finish up my quilted hearts that will go out during the week. 

We have a cloudy day with a chance of showers, a risk of a thunderstorm and a high of 21 C. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.