carliewired

By carliewired

Horticulture Gardens - TRU

In spite of showers
this public garden was much
appreciated

~ carliewired

The Horticulture Gardens have been developed at Thompson Rivers University as a demonstration of the horticulture programme offered as one of the trades courses. 

The gardens have become important in the conference and convention facilities that the university offers. Weddings and other ceremonies have used this garden. It makes a beautiful backdrop for photographs. The gardens are arranged in tiers and with recesses and benches to give lovely vignettes. It has some attractive features like a lily pond and climbing roses. There are little finds as you walk through. I found a painted rock left on a retaining wall and a bird's nest tucked under the edge of a shrub.

I chased some pollinators for their portraits this morning. I left my quilted heart on a trellis. 

I had to note that the gardens are not at their best as their use has been very limited in the past year. I see weeds blooming in the plantings so I would say the garden has not been receiving its normal level of care and attention during the pandemic. 

We had a low of 16 C overnight. Today, we can expect a high of 25 on this cloudy, rather damp day. There is still some evidence of smoke in the valleys. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.