carliewired

By carliewired

The Longest Day

Father's Day and our
Summer Solstice have arrived
together this year

~ carliewired

I was up at 4 AM catching the first light from my deck. My mountains weren't more than an outline at that time. It seemed a ridiculous hour to be up so I rolled back into bed after a hot chocolate. 

8 AM seems a much more respectable hour to be wandering about with a camera. I chose Mission Flats on the south shore as my location. There is no Rivers Trail for pedestrians here, so no quilted heart was released today. 

The river level is high and it's lapping on the vegetation along the shoreline. I could hear the call of a loon on the river but I could not see it. I stopped on the roadside where I could see across the river to the airport traffic control tower. One small plane rose up into the blue and soared over the river and me. Blue chicory filled one patch of roadside. Sagebrush and grasses are 3 to 4 feet high there. I stopped to get a photo of Mt. Paul and Mt. Peter looking across the river and Rabbit Island. At the end of my drive I took in the view to the west where the river meets Kamloops Lake. 

I picked up my breakfast croissant and coffee before heading back across the bridge to home. 

Our first day of summer made a beautiful start. We'd had rain last evening which left puddles for this morning. It was 16 C when I left the house. We can expect a high of 31 C with an increase of temperatures through this week. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.