Top to Bottom

Water levels are
continuing to cause some
concerns for us all

~ carliewired

I was making my coffee just after 4 while watching the sky for some colour as the light came up. I left the house just after 5 to cross the bridge and climb the hill for an overview of the city. 

I parked briefly at the Columbia Street Lookout where I can look to the North Thompson Valley and see something of my mountains and the South Thompson Valley. All appears normal from that location. I took note of the smell of cannabis coming from the only other car at the lookout and decided to move on down the hill. 

I stopped at the light at the bottom of 3rd Avenue to get a shot of the pedestrian bridge there. I parked near the railway bridge in Riverside Park, then got out to have a closer look at the flood levels. I was somewhat surprised to see sprinklers running not ten feet from the flood zone. That corner of the parking lot was already a very large puddle that I needed to skirt in order to get my photos. The city deposits these very large tote bags full of sand in many locations. Sometimes they are to weigh down a manhole cover to prevent it from popping up from the pressure of the water. From any angle the Thompson River seems very full. 

I took a quick look at the park renovations. The new walkway along the river has been raised and is above the current flood level. Much would need to be done in the next ten days to return the park to the public by Canada Day. 

I appreciate the landscaping and flowers in the park. Grass and pathways plus benches and garbage receptacles would need to be replaced. 

I left a quilted heart near the children's playground. My hearts this week are almost identical except for their buttons. 

I was home again before 7. I'm hoping my daughter and I will get together this afternoon to work on some projects. 

We have a day with mixed sun and cloud and a chance of showers later in the afternoon. The high today is expected to be 26 C. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.