East Side - McArthur Island

I waited for the
sun to appear this morning.
It was worth the wait.

~ carliewired

I was making my coffee at 7 this morning. That's a sleep-in for me. The sky did not look promising but I thought the morning could improve. I took my time leaving the house. I didn't arrive at McArthur Island until 8:30 by which time the world seemed a whole lot brighter. 

I parked on the east side near the Xeriscape Garden. I thought I'd seen Canada geese when I drove in, but none could be found. I walked the Rivers Trail beside the slough to discover a little group of five ducklings foraging in the water near the shore. They were sticking close together but there was no parent supervising. I watched for quite awhile but no adults showed up to mind them. 

I walked to the other side of the slough where I could see a mama duck with her brood on the tangle of logs in the middle. I could tell by colour and size that the five ducklings were not hers. Overhead I spotted an osprey cruising over the slough. I managed to catch one poor shot of it in the air. It moved over the slough several times then landed in a cottonwood tree where it could keep a close eye on the slough. I wondered if it had been watching those five unattended ducklings. 

I walked back towards my car. I found some late iris blooming in a shady portion of the garden. I left my quilted heart on a bench nearby.

I was home for the 10 AM news and will remain so for the day. 

We might expect a high of 24 C on this day of mixed cloud and sun. There's a good chance that we could have showers this afternoon. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.