Tranquille - In Flood

When the river is
high, a new lake is formed so
land disappears then

~ carliewired

I was up early and had my coffee at 5. The sky was cloudy and grey. I left the house just after 6 in my old pickup. My goal was to climb up the Red Lake Road to the first landing so I could have a look at the flooding by Kamloops Lake. 

The road is gravel with washboard and potholes so I was happy to have left my little red bomber in the garage this morning. There was a van parked at the landing so I was wary. I could see the wetlands now looked like its own lake. I took a series of photos to stitch into a panorama. 

I put the truck in second gear to drive down to Tranquille Farm. There are big puddles everywhere after the rainy and stormy week we've just had. From the road I could see across the wetlands and to the east I could see my mountains. The weeds and wildflowers beside the road are in a tangle. 

I drove to the lookout over the pastures where I'd watched the roundup in April. The fields are all immersed now. There are no fenceposts to be seen at all. Looking west, Tranquille seems to be rising up out of the water. The view south to the river appears to be just one expanse of lake. 

I picked up breakfast on the way home and was inside for the 7:30 news. My daughter and I hope to shop for quilting fabric this afternoon. She has friends who are expecting babies this year, so a quilt for each would be nice. 

We have a mix of sun and cloud today with a high of 22 C and a chance of showers. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.