PicturePoems

By PicturePoems

Summer Solstice

Can hardly credit it's already Midsummer's Day. An odd name for the summer solstice, as really it's nobbut the beginning of the summer months. 

First, thank you so much for all the lovely comments, stars and hearts for my yesterblip, that put it on the popular pages. Must admit, it's the photo I'm most pleased with this year so far.

Back to the poppies that I blipped three days ago, when only one had opened. Since the heavy rain and following sun, they're nearly all open now, and the big first-comer is now, as you see, in a state of collapse. The undersides are so pretty that I thought this angle would make a change. Although they're the same colour as yesterday's poppy, their shape is very different with far more petals. The leaf, though, is distinctive poppy-shaped. 

It's been a lovely day. We popped over to our daughter's, while LMB was at Nursery, to help with household jobs and baby-mind to free up Mrs B to do some tidying and sorting. After we'd left, with no toddler to disturb him, the young master apparently rocked himself to sleep such that Mrs B was able to mow their lawn. So that was good!

Mr PP went clay-pigeon shooting for the second time. Harder challenges this time, which he enjoyed. I did some drawer sorting and clearing while I had the house to myself. Not that I can't do it when Mr PP is around; I just concentrate on the job in hand better when I'm alone.

It's now a lovely evening, with soft colours in the sky, but I feel ready for bed! I don't know why I'm always so tired. Contented, though!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.