Flossmo

By Flossmo

Hanging on

Having learned from yesterday’s lack of planning I was in the garden by 7:45 and I got in a few hours of solid hard work before the heat of the day. It was mainly weeding, sweeping and hacking back some of the wilder plants but it’s definitely made an improvement.

When I finally sat down for lunch I decided to watch Laura Kunessberg on catch up. She had an extended interview with Rishi Sunak in which he managed to say precisely nothing. It was a marvelous opportunity to shout obscenities at the television. And for once I wasn’t alone. Anyone who regularly reads my blips will know how much I like vocabulary and wordplay so you can imagine I clapped my hands in delight this morning as Laura’s guest commentator, Ben Elton, described the interview as an extraordinary, Orwelian, meaningless, evasive word salad. He described Sunak as being as much of a mendacious, narcissistic sociopath as his previous boss…  venally motivated by self-interest… and dripping with vanity. Woo-hoo! I can only imagine being able to produce such eloquent invective on the hoof. 

After a bit of computer work I persuaded Mr Flossmo to drive me down to Gostrey Meadow in Farnham for a Mr Whippy. The Meadow was heaving with families enjoying Proms and Pop in the Park in the afternoon sunshine. I was interested to see that it is no longer, in fact, Mr Whippy but Sir Whippy. Well the prices are definitely Sir Whippy. But then I thought, well if Martin Reynolds, the man who invited over a hundred people to a Downing Street party during lockdown deserves a knighthood then, why indeed not an ice cream salesman? We enjoyed our confections in the shade of a large oak tree before stocking up on a couple of this week's specials at Cook.

After all that excitement, we were glad to get back home and rest in the cool of the house.  

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.