Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

Pink and Purple

Finally, nearly three weeks after my surgery and I've made it out of the valley for an early morning photo op. Progress at last!

The better half woke me early on account of the wonderful pink and purple skies of the recent week and how the mountains have looked gorgeous under this first light of the day. So, armed with travel mugs full of tea, the chauffeur drove me down to the Lake, just before the cutting between Ataahua and Prices Valley.

I'm glad we took the punt - the skies were indeed full of pink and purple, with a hint of rainbow (as seen on the left of picture) breaking through the cloud - a small rain shower projecting the small spectrum of light low in the sky.

It was great to take in the views and have a change of scenery. My only regret was that I didn't have my 70-200, tripod and remote release with me. Instead I packed the tiny nifty fifty and shot handheld, using the passenger door for support.

So whilst the field of view isn't what I'd like, at least I got to experience a beautiful and open sky, all thanks to my darling wife. Thanks hon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.