Grammy

By Grammy

How Does My Garden Grow?

As my first name is actually “Mary”, even though no one uses it, I thought my title fits. We had more rain last night. As you can tell from these pictures, between the rain, mushroom soil, fertilizer and the sprinkler, this garden is certainly flourishing. At this point, I am unable to get to the back. The squash plant is supposed to grow vertically for small garden spaces. With leaves this big, it is taking two squares in the garden and has almost covered my carrots. Had no idea that would happen. The first squash are almost ready for harvest. The third shot gives a glimpse of my out of control tomatoes. I planted two regular tomato plants and two volunteer grape tomato plants that came up from last year’s dropped fruit. We put the volunteers in cages like the other two to better manage them. But what a mess that was. Definitely shower time. All four plants (plus two growing elsewhere) have green tomatoes. Not sure how easy they will be to harvest. Hubby and I worked in the camper. He bought sturdy hinges to fix the Murphy bed. The junk hardware they used at the factory came loose and bent. The new ones won’t! I put away all the laundered linens so we will be ready to hit the road again in August. Hubby is returning the camper to my mother’s driveway; I will try to finish ironing. Jamie found me a deal on a beach wagon. Hubby will pick it up on the way home. Hope it is sturdy; can’t tell in the pictures. I watched a hawk swoop in and catch a bird from a tree this morning. Thankfully it was not close enough for me to identify either. Dinner is an easy casserole. I have to pack for our weekend in Baltimore. I remembered this morning that we have a life celebration on Saturday for another friend who lost her 10 year battle to ovarian cancer. Thursday-Monday will be very stressful; I may not get to do much with blip. Thanks for the visit. Stay safe. “There is nothing that is comparable to it, as satisfactory or as thrilling as gathering vegetables one has grown.” —Alice B. Toklas

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.