Grammy

By Grammy

Our Lady Queen of Peace Cemetery

Weird sleep last night. Hubby and I both fell asleep in the recliner. I woke up around 2 am and went to bed; he got to bed around 4. But we were both tired all day from the experience. We puttered around the house completing several odd jobs. The funeral Mass was at 10:30. I was asked to read from the Book of Wisdom, Chapter 3 verses 1:9 “The souls of the just…”. I felt honored. Two other mutual friends read also. Having us there together to support the family after graduating 54 years ago, warmed my heart. There were less than 20 folks in attendance. I am so blessed to have such a large family and friend support system. My friend’s daughter is an only child, she has no cousins, aunts, uncles; she has only her husband and adopted daughter. Her father abandoned the family when she was a toddler. That side of the family simply does not reach out-a pity. That whole situation saddened me most of all today. And worst of all, I introduced her parents. Plenty of guilt there. My friend was buried at the blip title county Catholic cemetery, next to her parents, brother and his first wife (see inset at bottom right). Such a tiny little resting spot for someone with such a big caring, selfless heart. We had a small repast afterwards. Hubby and I picked up some meds and were going grocery shopping but it started pouring rain. He will go tomorrow morning. Thanks for stopping by. Hug your family and call your friends. They are precious gifts. Stay safe. Enjoy your weekend. “The words 'Here you can find perfect peace' can be written only over the gates of a cemetery.” - Gottfried Leibniz

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.