Grammy

By Grammy

Tiger Lily

Hubby was up and out the door before I even opened my eyes. He picked up groceries and air filters. I walked outside to straighten the suet block and weeded two gardens in the process. My daughter let us know a former brother-in-law passed away this morning. His wife and I remained friends after my divorce. She passed a few years ago. He was under hospice care so it wasn’t a shock but sad nonetheless. Next, I made chicken salad for dinner. Later I cleaned another garden when I went out to get this blip. Usually the deer eat the lily buds but I covered several of them this spring. Hubby and I bid on cakes at an on line rescue squad auction. I was high bidder on a sour cream pound cake. We did a few house jobs until it was time to head to the firehouse where our friend’s celebration of life was held. The reminiscing stories and accolades were so uplifting, from her boss of 40 years, her sister, coworkers and her two children. Her son sang a farewell song that brought tears even to those who never cry. We were in line for the luncheon when we realized we had 15 minutes to pick up the cake. We are simply too busy. We arrived 15 minutes late but it was okay. Our grandson Mancil asked us to stop by my son’s pool to meet his new girlfriend Madi and receive my birthday gift. You will see it in a future blip; such a special gift! They had hubby’s Father’s Day gift as well. Very thoughtful. We came home for an hour and will be heading to Mass shortly. I hope your day has been calmer. Be safe. Thanks for stopping by. "Consider the lilies of the field whose bloom is brief: We are as they; Like them we fade away, As doth a leaf." - Christina Rossetti

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.