pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Big Client Day

Following a stressful few weeks, my largest client gave their renewal instructions, which meant that today was Big Client* Day.

In reality this means that we have to deliver on everything we promised and send out 180-odd different policy packs…in a day (generally speaking, one handler may deal with around 60 renewals in a month). To assist, I took out another mortgage and brought in some Krispy Kreme doughnuts, briefed the team of what was needed and then kept out of the way.

There were a couple of minor blips (there’s so many moving parts!), but with seven minutes to spare before the official close of business, we achieved everything we needed to.

Possibly the best Big Client Day ever.

I then dashed back home to collect my mother as we headed round to the school to watch The Youngest as Narrator 6 in the seminal work: Mermaids versus Pirates. She said her parts loud and clear and it was so nice to hear her actual, normal, lovely voice and not the shouty or baby versions of it.

However, I am ashamed to say that I missed the everyday sexism pointed out by my mother and ex wife, where all the pirates were boys and all the mermaids were the girls. Really? Pirates can’t be played by girls (and vice versa)? 

I was also party to more gossip about the continuing uselessness of the current head and shook my head in disbelief that she was clutching cue cards to prompt her who to thank after the show.

Couldn’t linger long as we dashed home and swapped my mother and daughter for father and son, as we headed off for m’boy’s latest cricket match. He won! Starting slowly, but scored a lovely four and a few singles. Taking his lead from a superb bowler in the team (four wickets), m’boy bowled beautifully to taking a couple for himself.

Eventually we made it home, where I had some oven crap for tea and we all collapsed into our respective beds.




*Obviously “Big Client” is not their real name, but y’know data protection and all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.