ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Simple Man

This is the mug I use to have a cup of tea after gigs and stage performances, lest the applause and plaudits of the crowd go to my head. I have the wisdom to know that I should remain grounded and humble in order that my public can still relate to me.
Or…I needed a blip and this souvenir of our trip to the Cotswolds earlier this year was the nearest thing to hand. I’ll leave it to you to decide which of these is the more likely.
It was a good gig last night - a Silver Wedding do and our mix of songs seemed to go down very well. I had a strange problem with my in ear monitors though. I could hear everything clearly, except my own bass! Nothing obvious as to why this should be - the signal was getting to the mixer but just not to my monitors. My suspicion is that there is something buried deep in the settings that needs adjusting. Hopefully I’ll have a chance to sort it before next week’s gig or I’ll have to once again adopt last night’s “one ear in, one ear out” approach, with vocals, etc fed into one ear and listening to my backline with the other.
A late finish last night, and Mrs C going out early this morning, meant I didn’t surface until lunchtime. And whilst I have spent a good portion of the afternoon just watching tv, I did go to the gym as well, so not a totally slobbish day!
I was hoping to go to a classic car show tomorrow, but the forecast is not good. I think it’s going to be a case of seeing what it’s like when I draw back the curtains in the morning, and take it from there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.