pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Old friends

I had a regular day at work today. Felt less stressed than last week, and with a bit of a clearer head. However, it didn't translate into the amount of work I got done.

Mum and Rod headed home as I was going in to a meeting, so I said goodbye and logged on to my meeting. We were almost an hour talking about some interviews that will take place Friday. Before I knew it, it was 4pm. I had received a message from a lovely 'old' (as in known for a long time) friend Cathy, sister to another of our best friends Andy. She was in the vicinity visiting her husband's uncle. Coincidentally, he lives in Aylmerton, literally 3 minutes drive from us. I dashed up after I finished work, and Jon met me there. We met lovely 'Uncle David' and chatted about helping him in his garden, which is getting just a little bit too much for him now. Then the heavens opened and launched hailstones at us, so we retreated inside for a catch up and a cuppa. Cathy and Keith had spent the day tidying Uncle David's garden, and we have said we will help him going forwards, as they are so far away in Hoddesdon.

Feeling happy today as we have eventually made a decision about our week in August and I have booked a very simple (a field and a toilet type) campsite near Ludlow. At £126 for the week, I challenge anyone to find a cheaper week's holiday in mid August!!

Something Mollie and I did yesterday, was to book a couple of nights away together. Also in August. We thought about it a bit, and have decided to go to London. So train and 2 nights in a travelodge now booked. We just need to decide what we will do when we get there. I'm looking at a few museums, and hopefully we can get cheap show tickets on the day.

Nice to have a few things to look forward to.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.