Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

This Could Be Trouble...

The 24-120 f/4 lens that I rented arrived today and I took it out for a quick spin in the garden.  And I may be in trouble.  This surprisingly fast and the focusing distance is about a foot so it can easily step in for macro.  I would normally say it would not be good for birds, but hummingbirds are the exception because they don't care if you are standing 2 feet away when they zoom in.  I have the lens for about 10 days so lots of time to try it out in lots of different situations, but the early verdict is two thumbs up.  And I still have the 24-200 lens for a few more days so I will give it some finals tests too.  

This shot was at 1/3200nd of a second and the wings are still a bit blurred.  This gives some context in terms of the speed of flight.  This is a female ruby throated hummingbird showing some signs of wear from raising young.  

Last night, I went out just ahead of sunset to bring my feeder in ... and saw a mama bear and four young cubs in the yard!  I was totally shocked and totally unprepared without a camera in hand.  So I stood there and just watched.  One of the cubs was noticeably smaller, not surprising with a litter this size.  Mama looked healthy and she was showing a lot of caution, shooing the youngsters quickly into the woods.  As much as I wish I could get a few pics of them, I really hope they don't stay around.  We can't risk Jax trying to chase as the mama would surely go after him.  And that means Jax has to be on a leash whenever we take him out right now.  Life on the Lane.

It is marginally cooler today, only in the high 80's and a cloud cover which makes it tolerable.  I expect I will scoot out again in a while to take some more pics.  Meanwhile, I will put a sample macro from this lens in Extra.  Spider alert - it's a big Nursery Web Spider standing guard over her young.  

I think maybe dark with bits of toffee today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.