Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

LAVATERA BARNSLEY BABY

Royal Mail advised me that they would deliver a parcel today.  So - just in case I was out - I nominated a safe place for them to leave it.  However when I read the card put through my door I saw they had delivered it to my neighbour across the road.  Bit annoying that they ignored my instructions..... but it turned out well as I had a lovely chat with the neighbour.  The family have lived there for a while ( Ive lost track of how long ) but Ive never really spoken to any of them.  There were balloons and banners at the house - turns out it was the 9 year olds birthday.  She was having a party/sleepover.  The lady I spoke to was lovely - she greeted me as if she had known me for years and we had a nice chat.  So in the end it was a good thing my parcel went " over the road ".

I had a wander down to the village this afternoon.  The weather was hot,sticky and humid and it looked as though it might rain ... but it didn't.  There was some rain later on though after I got home.

After sorting out my shopping I settled down to watch the footie on TV.  At the last minute Channel 4 decided to show the Under 21's Euro  Final. I have been following this competition as a Newcastle player - Anthony Gordon is in the team. (The matches weren't on TV. ) England were playing Spain today.  England had won all 6 of the previous games and hadn't conceded any goals so I was hopeful they would win.  At full time England were 1 nil up .... but there was 6 mins of added time.  Then things got a bit crazy.  Spain were awarded a penalty --- which the England goalkeeper saved.  The ball went loose and another Spanish player quickly took a shot and the keeper made another amazing save.  Then lots of players and backroom staff were  pushing and arguing and it was a scene of mayhem.  Once things settled down the Spanish assistant coach  got a red cards and was " sent off". ( The England assistant coach had already been " sent off just before half time ) A couple of players were booked - as well as one  or two getting red cards. It was hard to keep up.  Then there were a few mins more of the match still to play.  Fortunately Spain were unable to score so England won the competition. And Newcastle's Anthony Gordon was named as " Player Of The Tournament".  Well done England.

The parcel I got this morning contained a pack of 3 plants -- Lavatera Barnsely Baby.  A blip friend posted one as her blip on Wednesday and I liked it so much I decided to get some for myself.  Funny thing was just yesterday I noticed one of the flowers on the patio had bloomed and I realised it was also a Lavatera Barnsley Baby.  Then I remembered buying  this plant last year.  So now I have 4.  The top flower in my blip is the old plant and the bottom shows the new one. 

Steps today - 5,822

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.