Bom

By Bom

A Bishy Barnabee

If you've not heard the term, a bishy barnabee is the name for a ladybird in Norfolk, this one was in my garden this morning with a dying cornflower in the background. It's thought to be named after a 16th Century rector of East Dereham called Bishop Bonner. An old schoolyard rhyme per the North Norfolk News goes 'Bishy-bishy-barney-bee, tell me when my wedding be, if it be tomorrow day, take your wings and fly away. Fly to east and fly to west, but fly to him (her) that I love best.'

I woke up very early this morning, so was up before 6 and now feeling shattered. I met H for a lovely walk at Sheringham Park. Heavy rain was forecast and it started to rain slightly when I arrived, so I put waterproofs on. So naturally the light rain stopped almost immediately and I walked for a while on a muggy day in waterproofs - not pleasant. There were not many people around, they must have looked at the forecast too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.