HeidiHH

By HeidiHH

Family reunion

Today we visited Helsinki as my dad's brother held a get-together for the family. 

From the left first is my uncle's wife Eeva, then there's my dad's sister and my godmother Riitta. Next to her is Eeva who is my cousin's daughter named after his mum Eeva. Standing my uncle Yrjö and me sitting next to him. Behind me is my cousin Tapio holding his younger daughter Elena. Next to Tapio is our other cousin Lauri who's dad (brother to our dads) has passed away. His sister was not in town so we didn't get to meet her and her family. In front of Lauri are my parents sitting.

Tapio, Eeva and Elena (and Keri his wife who was unfortunately ill and not attending) are leaving back to Auckland this Sunday. Eeva is starting school next, so we need to travel to New Zealand to see them. That's life. But in my mind I am planning a trip already, which will most likely happen after 15 years. It would be fab.

I gave the girls Marimekko skirts and dresses and the girls put the skirts on immediately. They speak fairly good Finnish as Tapio speaks Finnish to them. Definitely the language you get by with in the world (sarcasm) :-D I do know you are supposed to speak your mother tongue to your children and it benefits the brains to be bilingual.

The pile of bags on the table I made from recycled and gifted fabrics and all were able to choose one of many. Fortunately I didn't have to bring any back. People liked the bags. Some were Marimekko fabrics some not, but all had some story and special thing in them. Some I had colored by hand, or the fabric was designed by an artist or I had drawn on them or...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.