pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Courgette

This one is on the allotment. I picked my first smallish courgette today from this lovely healthy plant, and left 2 to continue growing. Sad that the mice have had a nibble out of every single raspberry, so most of those I picked and gave to Bessie. I was pleased to see my remaining curly kale and the newly planted purple sprouting broccoli are still there, now that Bessie is locked in her run. But she isn't happy about it. I also have plenty of runner beans coming, which is something that didn't grow at all last year in the heat. On balance I'm trying not to be too disappointed with my allotment efforts, but I haven't put the time in to it, so I can't expect any more.

Worked until 5.30 after a late start, because I struggled to wake up this morning. It was good to welcome Carol back to the team today after a long time away, and a couple of other team members are on holiday this week, so some change and juggling. I enjoyed it today though. It didn't feel as stressful as in recent months. Perhaps I'm just putting things into perspective.

I am really looking forward to my holiday in August and some days with the family. So I'm counting down the days now the school holidays have started. No singing for 6 weeks, so I have a few Thursdays to fill which shouldn't be difficult.

Now I need my bed, so that I don't oversleep again tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.