More of the same

I have to say Sunday is not really the day of rest in our house - although it is the day I get a long lie in. So kind of fits the description!

When I did eventually get up at around 9, I had the jobs I wanted to get done, lined up in my head. Get the white washing in, do the ironing and clean the bathroom. They were my priorities, and all done by 11. Mollie helped me, but frustratingly the temperature was rising again, and by midday sapping our energy! When Jon got back from archery we had coffee in the garden. I have re-jigged the French Quarter to get an extra chair in. I just need to find a day when I have the time and energy to paint it blue to match the others. But today was not it. A few other bits moved about, but nothing quite finished. If we get cool evenings this week I'll make the garden my priority. With my help Jon fixed this screen to the trunks of the trees which were a huge hedge between us and our neighbours. Removing the foliage has given us over a metre more parking space, and will help towards us fitting the caravan in. We will buy another of those screens in due course. You can see where the hedge is still high and overflowing at the top. It wasn't a bad hedge, just took up far too much of our drive.

Mollie did lots of reorganising in the kitchen cupboards, and I did a bit in the cooks cabinet. The result is more organised, as Mollie discovered we had 3 bottles of vinegar, many multiples of certain herbs and spices, and all manner of bits and pieces that were well past their best before date. Some of which we discarded, but not all. We decanted half a tub of curry powder into another half a tub of tandoori powder. I'm sure mixed together they will be fine.

We have re-purposed the cooks cabinet as our drinks cupboard. We don't drink much alcohol in our house, so there are quite a few bottles started....I don't think there are any best before dates! The nice glasses have gone in there too, together with small nibbles bowls - in theory things used for celebrations. It wasn't difficult to fill it. We just need people to come and see us now, and then we can celebrate something!!

Mollie cooked a lasagne, and incorporated a large courgette that had been hiding under the leaves of the plant in my garden. My first proper courgette. I cycled up to the allotment and picked some Swiss chard and curly kale to have with it, and we ate in the garden. It was very nice. I picked my garlic, and am very pleased with the result. Grown from seeds from last years bulbs. So genuine food for free. Hoping they will keep. Small but perfectly formed is how I'd describe them.

Henry isn't home so we assume he is coming back from his festival tomorrow. He hasn't had a good signal so we've had no contact - a bit like the 1980s! So why hasn't he been and found a phonebox, so that he can let me know he is OK!!!? (Joke Henry, if you are reading this)

We almost had rain just now. There was a few drops, but nothing to speak of. I really want rain on my allotment as it is looking very sorry for itself. Yellow and wilting.

Right, I was getting an early night. Trying to do a 9 o'clock bedtime. I'm already late..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.