Angelique

By Angelique

"Where am I?"..........in the Village!!

This is the village of Stogumber, where I live. Whenever anyone asks where I come from they are always baffled because the name is so strange.

Wikipedia states: The name comes from the Old English Stoke meaning place or dairy farm with the addition in 1225 of the personal name Gunner.

Obviously overtime names get abbreviated but as you can see it is a charming old village nestling between the Brendon and Quantock hills. The views are fantastic and the light very special which naturally attracts artists, bit like St. Ives in Cornwall. We are about 14 miles from Taunton and 13 miles to Minehead, but certainly blessed with England at its best!!

We have an infants school, post office and a pub. What more could you want. Oh and I even have a view from the top bedrooms all the way across the Bristol Channel to Wales.

So thank you for sharing a scene from my village.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.