carliewired

By carliewired

84 F /29 C

Just a little smoke
and a lot of sunshine to 
start my lazy day

~carliewired

At 6:30 I was parked beside Gaglardi Square in the downtown. I ambled around the small park taking in all the vignettes in dappled sunshine. 

Sparrows came to see what I was up to. They were followed by a city worker who came in to switch on the sprinklers. Thankfully, I had already taken all the photos I wanted by that time. I quickly stepped out to the sidewalk to protect myself and my camera. 

I collected my drive-thru breakfast just down the street and headed for home.

I arrived into my cul de sac in time to see the little flock of chukars scramble across to my neighbour's front yard. The adults and brood numbered more than a dozen. They were much faster than I. They flew up onto the roof and quickly disappeared down the far side. I managed to catch the last adult on the roof cap who looked back at me. 

The Ross Moore Lake wildfire just south of the city has not grown. Crews continue to work to contain it. We are told it is displaying 'subdued fire behaviour' . For the most part, the smoke is moving up and away from the city.

The International Buskers Festival, a four day event, begins today in Riverside Park. Musicians, jugglers, acrobats, magicians and more will entertain for free. (tips appreciated) These professional street performers are from all across Canada and various points on the globe. I'm sorry to miss it. 

I'm in for the day resting my cranky feet. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.