carliewired

By carliewired

86 F/30 C

One sweet mama duck
greeted me this morning, so
I am now content.

~carliewired

I was in McArthur Island Park just before 6. Driving in at the east entrance I met a wood duck and her brood. I've found her here before so this must be her neighbourhood along the slough. Her babies are growing fast and now have some colour. 

I parked across from the Xeriscape Garden. It's meant to be a demonstration garden to display drought-resistant plants that are compatible with our semi-arid climate. I am here early in the morning when I find the garden drenched in water each time I'm here. 

I took a quick, short walk around the plantings. Day lilies and echinacea are the predominant blooms. They bring great colour. 

I left a quilted heart by the sun dial. 

I noticed a number of travel trailers parked behind the recreation centre. These would be the evacuees from south of the city. I'm hoping they can return home soon. 

I'm home today with my feet up. It will be another quiet day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.