Paul Lake Road and Beyond

It was a rather
late and a relaxing jaunt -
I took my sweet time.

~carliewired

It was almost 1 AM when I could open my windows and doors and turn off the A/C. When the outside temperature matches my inside temperature, I can go to bed. 

I slept until almost 7. The house had cooled to 22 C. I closed up windows and doors and headed off to Paul Lake, picking up a coffee before crossing the highway. 

My first stop on Schedam Flats was for grazing horses. I looked across the road to the north for a view of the grasslands which are already drying out. 

I stopped along Paul Lake Road for a shot of the old cabin. The foxtail shimmers in the sun. I suddenly realized the grass was moving. A small flock of Canada geese had settled in the grass and were slowly making their way through it. 

I drove up a little higher to Louis Lake. Cattle in open range had found themselves a cozy and cool spot. They seemed willing to share the shallow, west end of the lake with the ducks. I stopped for fireweed and other wildflowers beside the road. 

It was already 8 AM when I drove into Paul Lake Provincial Park. The entrance is long and winding. I stood at the shore of the lake thinking I had it all to myself this morning. I looked across the lake to see a fellow paddleboarding along the far shore. 

On my way back down the hill I had to take care as many using this road behave as though it's a road rally. I stopped once more to view the old cabin. The Canada geese had moved into the pond and were enjoying themselves immensely. 

I was home just after 9 with some breakfast in hand. I'm definitely in for the day now. This is to be our hottest day. Several places in the province set heat records yesterday. Today could exceed those. 

We have a sunny day with a high of 40 C and the possibility of a thunderstorm late this afternoon. I'm hoping the lightning does not cause any fires. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.