biddy

By biddy

“The Knife Angel” Lichfield City.

I went to Lichfield on the bus today and enjoyed the ride, using my pass.
I was upstairs on the front seat and looking out over rolling summer fields under the wide open skies, once we got to the outer edge of the suburban area.
It doesn’t take long to arrive in open countryside from where we live.
Once I arrived and set off to make my way to the shopping area, I passed this sculpture,
It is so moving.
Made of knives gathered in a knife amnesty and made to help promote the message that knives kill.
On the metal surrounding fencing was the information about how it came about and how it was made,, alongside a moving montage of photos of youngsters who had lost their lives in knife attacks.
Here is a link to the information about why and how it was made.

https://www.britishironworkcentre.co.uk/the-knife-angel-official/#:~:text=National%20Youth%20Anti%2DViolence%20Tour,critical%20need%20for%20social%20change.

In the meantime I managed to find a dress suitable to wear at the funeral of Stephen’s cousin. One I can wear again afterwards. She wouldn’t have wanted anyone to wear black.
We are still waiting for the date.
I had a bite to eat in the old Tudor café.
It has so much atmosphere.
Once home again, having enjoyed the return journey, I remarked to Stephen that it so reminded me of my mum when she used to say “I’m just going to get the bus to Burnley”, whenever she felt like a bit of a change,
That was a lovely journey too, going “over the moor” as we used to say from our Rossendale Valley and then dropping down the long steep hill into Burnley which was laid out in the next valley. It made me feel quite emotional somehow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.