Day at a Time

By Tweedy

Neolithic

Today was the annual open day at the Ness of Brodgar, the famous archaeological site between the Ring of Brodgar and the Stones of Stenness. We have visited both the Stones and the Ring before but never the Ness. My sister and BiL were making their third visit but the mind boggling dig was new to the rest of us. I've included an extra of the dig and some links if you'd like to read more about life in Orkney 4,000 years ago.

My main though is the Ring of Brodgar with the wonderful wildflowers surrounding it in the first extra. 

Orkney has sparkled all day and we can't believe our good fortune. 

I'm going to stop apologising for my lack of blip engagement as I'm never going to find time to read,  comment and respond.  

The children love just kicking around the house and garden, catching tiddlers and crabs, blowing huge bubbles, watching the ferry come and go, paddleboarding and setting obstacle courses. They run between the big house and the cottage and it's all such fun. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.