Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Two living composers

Works by these two were performed during this year's Corbridge Chamber Music Festival.

John Casken's Lust of Roots for clarinet and piano trio was performed yesterday. He spent time explaining the five sections of the single movement work to us. One section was a new folk song and two were schezos. (No one around me could distinguish any of these, but I didn't tell him!)

Sarah Jenkins new work for clarinet and piano trio was played today. It is called Gaia and inspired by the concept of Mother Earth. I found this an altogether more accessible piece. Pastoral was the word that my neighbour and I both said afterwards.

The festival has been truly wonderful. The feast of music has been almost too much and I will be glad to stretch my legs tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.