suehutton

By suehutton

Too much stuffing

'Highlight' of today was going to the surgery for an ECG. We made up for it afterwards by driving to Finkins for coffee and cake.

Rain at midday gave way to intermittent sunshine. Basil and I went out with Cecily for a mooch round the block. I had thought that Cecily hadn't been charging. I was right. Len discovered the switch on the charger that we need to turn on.

Then it was time to try a new recipe, for me. Stuffed tomatoes. I had ordered some gorgeous beef tomatoes from the Isle of Wight tomato stall. Time to follow the recipe. I overdid the stuffing and didn't quite get the seasoning right.

Despite looking so beautiful, plump and firm, I didn't find that these tomatoes were particularly tasty. The best tomatoes I have ever tasted were in Tenerife and they still looked a bit green, but they had grown in the sun. Which I think makes all the difference. We used to go to the fish restaurants in the small harbours along the coast. Dinner was swimming in the tanks at the back. It couldn't have been fresher.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.