Hover

I've had words going round my head all day, and forming themselves into sentences, but I don't know where they are now.

I'm feeling a bit sad for a few reasons I can grasp and some not proper explicable reasons that I can't really fathom, and I've had no energy today.

As I was watering the broad beans this evening, wearing my flipflops (me, not the broad beans), I realised my feet were either side of a dead baby bird. It was so soft and perfect-looking and curled up as if in sleep I wanted to cry. That's the fourth baby bird we've found on the lawn. On Sunday there were 3. Because they were nowhere near a tree, a hedge or a nesting box I can only assume foul-play.

I nearly took a photo but decided on this slightly more cheery hover fly instead. We're in the process of getting our pond back. It's been slowly hiding and drying out, but despite it being a bit small and crap it seems to be good for nature, so I'm making an effort to bring it back. I've refilled it and Richard and I have taken it in turns to clear around it. Soon there'll be a couple of plants but at the moment it's just a large dirty puddle with a few happy hover flies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.