pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

The Loft....

....a horror story! Lol.

That's where I have spent my day. Yes, really! I went up at 10am, struggled to find the things I had gone up there for, and after several hours getting engrossed in more random paperwork if dad's (school books, receipts, pamphlets, maps, scribbles...and more) I came down for a late coffee at 12.30. Then spent a few more hours searching the house, including wardrobes, cupboards above wardrobes, boxes, drawers. Still no luck.

At 3.30pm I decided to go back in the loft, convinced they must be up there, and started by trying to make some order to the far end, putting similar types of paperwork together in piles, boxes and genuine rubbish separately on the floor. I've drawn a little map to show what pile is what (as I won't remember when I'm next here) and left it on an old desk that is up there. Then suddenly, I stumbled on a broken grey Chelsea Girl plastic carrier bag, containing what I'd been looking for all day! So at least I'd managed to do a bit more sorting during my time up there. Not a wasted day. The weather has been very wet all day, so I would have been indoors anyway.

Mum cooked a traditional fry up for dinner, and now we are relaxing. Tomorrow I'm driving to Milton Keynes, so will have to check the route and exact destination tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.