pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Meeting old friends and making new ones!

The day started with another lie in, although how do I stop my body from still waking at 6 whatever the day? You don't need to answer that! But it gave me a chance to read a bit of my book before getting up - something I barely ever allow myself the luxury of. I'm really close to the end so want to finish it before my holiday.

Then up, showered and washed my hair - made a bit more effort than usual and even put a bit of make up on. Had breakfast with mum and Rod and then Rod packed up to head home, while mum and I gathered our stuff together. I had plugged the route in to my phone and we left for Milton Keynes just after 11. I didn't want to go via M25 and M1 or A1(M) so headed through Hertford and out across the Hertfordshire and then Bedforshire countryside, via villages large and small for our destination - a date with old friends of dad's (and mums) from Barnet, and specifically the Barnet & District motorcycle club which I believe was set up in 1953, (and I will be corrected if I'm wrong), but certainly dad was an early if not one of the founder members. Dad and John toured Europe in the 1950s on their motorbikes - young batchelors enjoying a freedom afforded in those days. Later dad took us as a family back to all of those places they had visited.

I have been very keen to meet John and Shirley for a long time. Dad spoke of them fondly over the years, them having been friends since their early 20s. But it never seemed that important to make that time to meet, with everyone living their own lives. Now dad has gone and I knew I had to do it now - no-one is getting any younger! Fortunately for me, Shirley had the foresight to organise a reunion of old boys and girls, and mum needed a chauffeur in order to join them. With Manda away on holiday, I was next in line. Lucky me!

We met at a pub, often frequented by John and Shirley and their family. How lovely it was to be out in a social situation. I didn't know any of the people I met today, but feel I've made some new friends now, including a new Facebook friend in their daughter Gill. After a relaxed meal, we went back to their home in the village just outside Milton Keynes to continue our catching up. I was treated to a tour of Shirley's amazing allotment- particularly impressed by melons growing in her new polytunnel.

After cake, coffee and more chatting, the time had come for us to make the return journey to Hoddesdon. We said our goodbyes. An hour and 20 minutes saw us pulling up just before 8pm. I'm glad I hadn't planned to go home tonight. Another 3 hours of driving I couldn't do safely, so that will be my tomorrow morning challenge - after I've filled up with petrol!

Now we are relaxing to The Antiques Roadshow with a cup of tea. I felt dad's absence today, more than I have for a while. I'm sure mum felt the same. I felt I was there in his place. But I hope he would be pleased that I've at last caught up with his oldest friends today.

I'll have an early night tonight, and think I will be sleeping well!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.