Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

SHEEP

It was a rainy morning so I was expecting it to continue to rain this afternoon --- as forecast. But in the end the weather was dry and calm.  Nothing like the stormy conditions which were happening further south.  I dressed for the predicted weather and found that I was too warm. 

Around 1.20pm I got the bus to Newcastle and had a mooch around the shops.  Found my first two Shaun the Sheep sculptures.  There is a trail to follow and there are 45 large sheep to find as well as some " Little Shauns".  The sculpture on the left is indoors in the Eldon Square shopping centre and is called " Ive got Felines for M-Ewe.".  The one on the right is called " Sheep Fit " and can be found outdoors in Old Eldon Square. Im tagging them for Silly Saturday in memory of Admirer  - hosted by  davidc.

Around 2.30pm I started walking towards St James Park.  Newcastle United were in action today in the Sela Cup - a series of pre-season friendlies.  At 12.30pm there was a match between Nice and Villarreal ( that ended in a 1 -1 draw ) I had decided to give that one a miss. Then  at 3.30pm - the main event -  Newcastle played Fiorentina.  Then at 6pm the Newcastle United ladies team played West Bromwich Albion ladies.

Today was the first test for the new digital ticket system.  Your ticket was supposed to be loaded on your phone in your Google Wallet.  From what I gathered listening to conversions on the bus some folk didn't even have a Google Wallet.  So I think they would be heading for the box office to sort out a last minute paper ticket. I was relieved that my digital ticket worked fine and I was able to squash through the turnstile.  ( they are very narrow ).

I wasn't able to sit in my usual seat as it was unavailable when I booked so I was in the East Corner of the Leazes Stand.  I wasn't too keen on the seat I was in as to my left there was a handrail which was really annoying. Had to peer under it or over it during the match to follow the action --- see my Extra shot.  Ive also added an Extra of the flags in the Leazes stand and a shot of our new signing Sandro Tonali. 

The Newcastle team consisted of around half of the usual first team players and half of youngsters .  The team played well considering it wasn't the usual line up.  Newcastle won 2 - 0.  I didn't stay to watch the ladies match as there was a 45 min wait before their game started so I just headed off to get my bus. ( I heard later the Newcastle ladies won 3-0)

The second part of the tournament is tomorrow- two matches - Fiorentina V Nice and and Newcastle V Villarreall.  Newcastle have a good chance of winning the cup I think. I decided not to go to tomorrows game - hopefully it will be on Radio Newcastle.

Apologies to non footie fans/non NUFC fans - feel free to ignore most of what Ive written above.

This evening Ive been listening to a programme I recorded - Elkie Brooks in concert.  Such a wonderful voice. ( a silly fact - her real name is Elaine Bookbinder )

Steps today - 8,750.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.