An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Summer wash day...

The sister painting to this one :-)

I was woken at 8am by the sound of the rain thundering down.  Couldn't believe the racket it was making.  Heavy bursts like that usually stop after a few minutes but this went on for ages!  I am so glad we got a new roof last year as that's the kind of rain that would have caused all sorts of problems all over the house!

David was up first and Agnes, Adrian and I made it downstairs by 11am.  Good going :-)

Leisurely brunch of bacon rolls (veggie sausages for Agnes) and large mugs of tea, with more chat and occasional glancing at Saturday kitchen.  We were all confused as to why Saturday Kitchen was on as we were convinced it was Sunday morning.  Of course we would normally see them on a Saturday night rather than a Friday.  Doesn't take much to confuse us! 

They headed off to pick up Emily.  She and Agnes were going to Stirling as Emily wanted to look for clothes to take on her honeymoon.  Adrian said this was Emily's final hurrah as the Bank of Mum and Dad would be closed after the 18th!  LOL! 

The rain eased a bit in the afternoon and D got some overdue deadheading done in the garden.  I had a pile of paintings waiting to have mounts attached so brought all the stuff required to the kitchen to do it there, as there was more room.  Afterwards I gave my art table a much needed tidy up and found my little summer wash day watercolour that I completed the other day.  Oh if only the weather was like that!

D and I had a late lunch followed by some household admin and then my mind turned to creating an itinerary for our week in Harris.

My blip pal P, is meeting us in Stornoway and we will spend the week together in the same amazing house D and I stayed in on the road to Hushinish, in Harris, last year.  

I've been in touch with an artist I follow on Facebook, who lives in Tarbert, to see if she fancied meeting up with P and me (for those not familiar with her journal, P is a retired art teacher and an amazing artist) for coffee and to chat about living and painting on the island.  She replied to say she would love to meet up with us, so really looking forward to that.

Beef stir fry for dinner then some time spent with Alan, which was hilarious as D remembered an old song we used to sing to him years ago and it triggered lots of happy memories of his early years (pre-age 10) that had the three of us laughing heartily.  

Really must back blip some photos from that era.  Lots of funny stories to accompany them! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.