Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Swifts and swallows

Taking advantage of the sunshine, we head for Sychnant. Conditions really are too windy for me to capture swallows skimming over the lake, but still I try. It’s hard enough at the best of times when at least there’s a planned trajectory of flight across the waters, but today the gusts make for unpredictable flying. Birds are few and far between, and those who do fly to the water circle back and forth, changing direction and altitude so rapidly that my slow reflexes have little chance. Time and again, I fire the shutter button too late, capturing deserted air or water, or - at best - a ghostly avian blur. 

As always, it’s beautiful to be here, and my spirits soar alongside the antics of the soaring swallows. I need that today, as I’ve woken up with a return to catheter problems. The pain is back, as is my walking pole - though as yet it’s nowhere near as bad as it was pre last week’s change.  This has really knocked me back, I must admit, as things have been so much better; until today, I’ve not needed a single painkiller. So I’m hoping this is just a minor set-back

Still, there are identifiable birds amongst my haul - though sometimes it’s hard to see whether they are swallows, swifts or martins. My favourites are those soaring up across the landscape, though I find it hard to decide between my main and my first extra. Then there’s a couple more, including one captured just as he’s skimmed the water.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.