carliewired

By carliewired

85 F/ 29C

We are steeped in smoke.
No blessing of rain yet for 
our parched forest lands

~carliewired

It was so grey and dark this morning that I slept in until 7. I was on my way to Tranquille at 7:30 mindful of the road construction on the routes there and back. 

I got my panorama of the wetlands pond and Tranquille Farm. I drove to the end of the road, turned around and parked to get a good shot of the osprey and their nest. 

One osprey parent was on the nest with a young one. I imagine it was mama carving up breakfast for the offspring. The other osprey perched on a tall pole surveying the neighbourhood. I could hear them talking to each other. 

I found a heavily-laden honeybee hard at work on the chicory. 

A look back across the wetlands pond to the city gave me a very faint view of my mountains. 

We are listed at 'moderate risk' on the air quality indicator. We get a tantalizing prospect of a 'chance of showers' but it does not materialize. Severe watering restrictions for those of us in the city are about to kick in. The only watering will be with a spring-loaded, hand-held sprinkler. My underground watering system will be shut off. 

Our salmon stocks are at risk right now. The rivers are too low and too warm for their movement. It isn't just our forests in peril. 

My day will be a quiet one with my cranky feet propped up. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.