To McClure and Back

As the heat comes up
once again, mornings become
the best time of day

~carliewired

I was every bit a slug this morning. I did not want to get up. It was 7:30 by the time I started along Westsyde Road heading for the McClure ferry. 

I haven't travelled this route for months. I am very disturbed by the disruption in this north valley caused by the pipeline construction. It has left a huge scar in its wake. I have to just turn my eyes to more attractive elements that I have enjoyed here for many years. 

My first surprise was finding a lovely doe browsing on the hillside across from the golf course in Westsyde. She skirted along the hill sampling as she went. I left her to her breakfast and drove on to the hayfields further north. Haying is in various stages. Some has already been collected and the irrigation is out for another crop. Some bales are stacked waiting for collection. I could see across the valley to the thin layer of smoke hanging over the river. 

My second surprise was another doe that scampered across the roadway in front of me. She stopped in the shade of the trees along the road to look back at me. I caught her in that hazy light. 

I drove on through Black Pines to catch some horses standing in a corral. They seemed to have a cooperative effort of switching their tails to keep the flies off. 

I drove as far as the McClure ferry stopping to wait for it to return to my side to pick me up. I've always enjoyed that very short ride to the east side of the North Thompson River. When I departed the ferry, I stopped to look back to see another vehicle already waiting for the ferry on the west side. 

I stopped at the market garden stand by the highway to pick up some juice and some fruit syrup. I was home by 9:30 to work on my photos. 

I have no plans to leave the house  today. It is heating up again so my A/C will be my best friend this afternoon. 

We have a sunny day with a high of 35 C expected. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.